CMETB News - New Chairperson Elected

New Chairperson elected to the Board of CMETB

In a recent meeting of the Cavan and Monaghan Education and Training Board (CMETB), Councillor PJ O’Hanlon was elected as Chairperson, while Councillor Clifford Kelly was elected as the Deputy Chairperson. These pivotal appointments took place during the Board’s meeting held on Tuesday 19 September.

The new Chairperson, along with ETB Board members and the Executive team took a moment to pay tribute to the outgoing Chairperson, Cllr. Carmel Brady, commending her dedication and exceptional leadership throughout her year-long tenure.

Upon assuming the position, PJ O’Hanlon expressed his sentiments, stating,

“I am delighted to have been elected as the new Chairperson of CMETB for the upcoming year. It is particularly an honour for me as I follow in my late mother’s footsteps who previously served as Chairperson of Monaghan VEC on a number of occasions.”

“I wish to express my gratitude to my fellow Board members for placing their trust in me for this role. Having served on the Board for the past 10 years, I hold immense respect for the work of CMETB in furthering the educational opportunities for the people of the Cavan/Monaghan region.”

“I eagerly anticipate collaborating with the Executive and the Board to advance the implementation of CMETB’s strategic initiatives in the year ahead.”

The new chairperson highlighted the significant investment made by the Government over the past number of years in developing educational opportunities in our region and paid tribute to the dedication of the teaching and administrative staff within CMETB.

The Board members along with the Executive team collectively extended their best wishes to PJ O’Hanlon as he embarks on his new role.